rules-question

  • Posts: 765
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 42

squirrel created the topic: rules-question

Last night we had a rulles-issue when I tried to destroy Bram's magnun with canine horde and he tried to play some card to avoid this. I don't really remember which card it was, but I'd like to know why this was/wasn't possible rules-wise. Bram, can you explain the situation a bit better to our rules-experts?

and though We are not now that strength which in old days
Moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are;
One equal temper of heroic hearts,
Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.
~Tennyson~
#2265

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 601
  • Karma: 5
  • Thank you received: 45

D- replied the topic: rules-question

We would need to know the card that cancelled the Canine Horde (or its effect).
DI or DI2 would cancel your Canine Horde and you could play another strike instead.

Cardtext wrote: Canine Horde
[Combat]
[Animalism]
[ani] Strike: 1R damage.
[ANI] Strike: ranged; destroy equipment with first strike.

#2266

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 765
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 42

squirrel replied the topic: rules-question

it wasn't DI. It was some sort of combat card that canaceleld a card that limited your choice of strike or something. I really can't remember it.

and though We are not now that strength which in old days
Moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are;
One equal temper of heroic hearts,
Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.
~Tennyson~
#2267

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 843
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 55

gotcha replied the topic: rules-question

groundfighting which can cancel terror frenzy drawing out ....
#2268

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 601
  • Karma: 5
  • Thank you received: 45

D- replied the topic: rules-question

cardtext wrote: Groundfighting
[Combat] Combat
Requires a ready anarch. Do not replace until after combat.
Maneuver or press or burn 1 blood to cancel a combat card played by the opposing minion that would restrict this anarch's choice of strikes this round as it is played.


This is similar as a .44 maneuver - maneuver back - combat a close range - immortal grapple: in this case it sucks to be the magnum guy unless that guy plays groundfighting.
The grapple restricts the choice of the strike.
Canine Horde doesn't enforce or restrict the strike with the magnum, it just makes it fizzle (because of the first strike)

I'll verify on vekn.net, since this question was important enough to call me after bedtime :)

Seriously: if anyone ever calls me again after 10pm for a rules question, I'll just assume you are being raped by Enkidu and send in the SWAT team
#2269
The following user(s) said Thank You: gotcha

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.042 seconds